Lab Members

  • Ethan Kross, Ph.D.

    Lab Director

    Ethan Kross is a Professor in the Psychology Department and in the Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan. He is an award-winning scientist and teacher who studies self-control. He received his B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania and a Ph.D. from Columbia University. He is the recipient of early career awards from the Association for Psychological Science, Society of Experimental Social Psychology and the Foundation for Personality and Social Psychology as well as multiple teaching awards from the University of Michigan. His research has been featured The New York Times, The New Yorker, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, and Science.

    The goal of Ethan’s research is to shed light on the psychological and physiological processes that allow people to control emotions that undermine their goals and compromise their health. He uses a variety of tools (e.g., behavioral, diary, physiological, neuroscience-fMRI methods) to address this issue and focuses on both normal-healthy and clinical populations.

    Click here for Dr. Kross’s CV.

Post Docs

  • Ariana Orvell

    Ariana is a postdoctoral research fellow at the University of Michigan, where she received her PhD in 2019. She received her B.A from Columbia University and her Masters in Teaching from the Relay Graduate School of Education. She studies how subtle shifts in language, perspective and context can reflect and promote psychological processes—from emotion regulation, to persuasion, to identity conflict. She’s also interested in leveraging basic science findings to positively affect people in their daily lives. To learn more about her research, click here.

Graduate Students

  • Laura Soter

  • Susannah Cazaubon

  • Sakura Takahashi

  • Martha Berg

  • Izzy Gainsburg

Lab Managers

  • Janet Youkyung Kim